Read more

Mary Seacole Awards

The Mary Seacole Awards provide an opportunity for individuals to be recognised for their outstanding work in the black and minority ethnic (BME) community.

The awards are funded by Health Education England and are awarded in association with Royal College of Midwives, Royal College of Nursing, UNISON and Unite with support from NHS Employers.

These annual awards for nurses, midwives and health visitors in England have a dual purpose. They directly provide funding for specific health care projects and activities that will benefit and improve the health outcomes of people from BME communities.

Professor Gina Higginbottom was a previous winner of a Mary Seacole Award and has gone on to have a glittering career in academia, nursing, midwifery, health visiting and research. In this interview she joins Eula Miller, who is a current Mary Seacole Awardee, and Stuart Tuckwood, the current chair of the Awards, to discuss her career and the lessons for others making a career in this area.

Introducing a book about

Mary Seacole by Ron Ramdin

"Contains important lessons for those of us who care, and demonstrates why she was voted the greatest black Briton."
Church Times

Learn More

Introducing the Mary Seacole Book:

A STATUE FOR MARY: The Seacole Legacy
Edited by Lord Clive Soley and Jean Gray

Learn More

We use cookies to give you the best possible experience. To get the best results, please make sure you're using the latest version of your browser. By using our website, you're agreeing to our use of cookies. Read our cookie policy and privacy policy to find out what they're used for and how to change your settings. X